County Home


The Zoning Division is responsible for enforcing and administering the Franklin County Zoning Resolution.  The Zoning Resolution regulates buildings and land uses for the purpose of promoting public health, safety and general welfare throughout Franklin County.  Zoning accomplishes this purpose by encouraging appropriate land uses, stabilizing and preserving property values, preventing the overcrowding of land and avoiding undue concentrations of population.

The Zoning Resolution divides land into zoning districts.  There are specified land uses allowed for each district and the regulations are uniform throughout the zoning district.

Zoning districts are delineated to reflect similar existing land uses, availability of public water and sewer or lack thereof, access, location, need for additional uses, and physical constraints such as soils, drainage, and flooding.  The zoning districts may be changed to encourage appropriate growth and development based on land use plans or policies.


Certificates of Zoning Compliance

A certificate of zoning compliance is required prior to:

  1. Changing the use of buildings or land
  2. The extension, erection or alteration of any existing or new structure
  3. A disturbance of 1 or more acres of land

For information about certificates of zoning compliance contact:

Eric Gayetsky


For zoning violations contact Code Enforcement Officers:

Joe Bailey
Clinton, Madison, Mifflin, Sharon, Truro Townships

Paul Eberts
Brown, Franklin, Hamilton, Norwich, Pleasant Townships

John O'Grady President
Marilyn Brown
Kevin L. Boyce